The current kasbah was built from 1860 by the Glaoua , next to an old kasbah whose remains are still visible today. It was subsequently greatly enlarged during the first half of the twentieth century by Thami El Glaoui. Legend has it that 300 workers worked for three years decorating ceilings and walls. These are made either of finely chiselled stucco, sometimes of zelliges for the walls, and cedar painted for the ceiling . The roofs are made of ceramic tiles painted green.